My Understanding Of Digital Literacy

Prior to DTC 101 I hadn’t given digital literacy that much thought. To me, to be literate meant only that one could read and write. It had never occurred to me that one could be considered literate in technology as well. In reading NCTE’s Position Statement on the “Definition of 21st Century Literacies”, it changed my understanding of literacy. Literacy is not only ones ability to read and write, however that was once the standard for literacy. Literacy is the ability to change the way we read, write and communicate, as the times change around us. In the 21st century technology has to be a necessary component of literacy. We have technology and it has been integrated into our daily lives. Mark Bauerlein discussed this in his online article “Online Literacy is a Lesser Kind”. He stated that “Our students have worked and played with computers for years”. If kids in the 21st generation are growing up with computers in classrooms and are using it for problem solving and writing papers, than if technology should be a necessary component of what it means to be literate, shouldn’t even be a question that is posed. Growing up in a tech savvy world has given me more opportunities than if I had grown up other wise. With out technology in my life as I grew up I never would have known what major I wanted to go into, and that major (marketing) wouldn’t be close to the technological extent that it is today. I don’t expect it to be the same in 10 years either. There are always going to be shifts in literacy, just as there are always shifts in technology. Us as humans are always looking for ways to innovate and improve. If there wasn’t a shift in literacy along with that than where would we be, and when would we stop innovating and improving?fullsizerender-6

(My Own Photo)

Leave a Reply

